Posts tagged castle.

le désespoir des singes (98) (by [chaos and creation in the backyard])

Posted by my7horcruxes
5 months ago on 03/01/14 at 07:00am

Urbex Château Miranda by Sébastien Marion Photography Urbex on Flickr.

colorful invasion (explore) (by eLe_NoiR)

ballroom (by sureShut)

IMG_7404 by Lauric Gourbal Photographies on Flickr.

Ruperra Castle by Paula J James on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Ruperra Castle was built by Sir Thomas Morgan, who was steward to the Earl of Pembroke. He was knighted in 1623 and was also Surveyor of the Wood to King James I. The income from these occupations, and a favourable marriage, enabled him to complete the building of his house at Ruperra in 1626, possibly on the site of an earlier mediaeval house. The architect remains unknown.

King Charles I stayed at Ruperra from the 26th to the 29th of July 1645, whilst gathering support in South Wales after his defeat at the Battle of Naseby. The present public footpath from the Rudry to the Castle was named after this visit as the King’s Drive.

The following century Ruperra Castle was ravaged by fire. Thomas Hardwicke was employed to rebuild it and the earlier gables were replaced by flat battlements.

Lodges called Ruperra Park Lodge, East Lodge and West Lodge and Ironbridge Cottage were built in the Victorian era. The Iron Bridge, which is now listed, was built in 1826 to take the new carriage way from the Castle through Coed Craig Ruperra and across the Rhymney River to Lower Machen Church where the family and their servants attended services on Sundays.

By the end of the century the buildings at Ruperra were in desperate need of repair. The stable block had been destroyed by fire in 1895. After the death of Colonel Frederick Morgan in 1909, his son Courtenay started a programme of refurbishment. The brew house, laundry and dairy range built in the 1840s, were converted to accommodate the footmen, valets, garden staff and chauffeurs.

In spite of the building works, Ruperra was now the second home of the Morgan family. Courtenay, the current Lord Tredegar lived at Tredegar House and his son Evan did not make Ruperra his home as previous sons had. With only a small domestic staff installed, Ruperra was used for hunting and shooting and weekend parties.

By 1935 the fortunes of the Morgan family had declined and the 3000 acre estate was put up for sale. But there were no offers. The contents of the Castle were disposed of in a three day sale. What remained was taken to Tredegar House, the Castle abandoned and the gardens left to go wild.

With the outbreak of World War Two, Ruperra Castle was requisitioned and from 1939 to 1946 a succession of Royal Army regiments, Signals, Mobile Bakery, Searchlights, Medical Corps, Indians, Dutchmen, were sent to Ruperra to be trained and moved on. At the end came German prisoners of war.

On the 6th December 1941 a fire broke out in the castle caused by faulty electric wiring and the castle was gutted by the fire.

In 1956, the whole of the Tredegar estates of 53 000 acres were sold off, including the now ruined castle of Ruperra. The castle has remained in private ownership since then. However nothing has been done to stop its continued deterioration. As a result, in 1982, the south-eastern tower collapsed. There are large cracks in the other three.

Ruperra is a typical Jacobean pretend castle unique in Wales and marks the transition from medieval to modern design.

www.ruperratrust.co.uk/index2.html


Château de Bagnac by Elm Studio on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
The glorious and stunning Château de Bagnac, which is located in the commune of Saint Bonnet de Bellac, in the Haute Vienne department of France, abandoned in the 1950’s so is now in ruins, it was a true delight to the eye in its day. Full technical details of the image can be found here: Elm Studio

If you would like to attend our photographic workshops in France and photograph the Château de Sarzay then full details can be found here: Photographic Workshop in France

Castle 005 by Gelehalopat on Flickr.

Castle 003 by Gelehalopat on Flickr.

tre contro tre (by eLe_NoiR)

Abandoned by ledanois on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
An abandoned castle in the center of Toulouse (the chalets area). The building is called “Maison du Verrier”.

Urbex ~ Le manoir by Marie l’Amuse on Flickr.

Posted by ntsouprake
10 months ago on 09/29/13 at 06:22pm